It’s Not Me, It’s ‘U’ . . .

It’s Not Me, It’s ‘U’

If by chance, you happen to meet a musician, (particularly a country musician, who is trying to ‘break in to their musical career’), my initial response to you would be to ask him out for a coffee (as I bravely did).  Ask me now however, and I would advise you to hit the ground running … in the opposite direction of Nashville.

… Be still my beating heart

On one occasion that I was supposed to hang out with ‘Mr. Nashville,’ it was a hot, sunny day in the middle of the summer. Staying true to his form, he had invited me over as he often does, by way of text message.

On this particular day I had received a text from him that read: ‘u wanna come over’

‘Wow,’ I thought to myself, I was so flattered that he was putting so much effort in to this invite. He even went so far as to refer to me as the letter ‘U’ ..

I then wondered if ‘U’ was his new pet name for me, or something. And, for him to not even include proper grammar or punctuation,  I became the one who was lost for words.

Little did I know that this was only the beginning, and just a glimpse of what was to come ..

Leave a comment